All American Futurity Winner Fly Baby Fly Arrives At Ruidoso
Champion 2-Year-Old Filly Fly Baby Fly arrived in Ruidoso Downs this afternoon (Tuesday).

© Clayton Baker
All American Futurity Winner Fly Baby Fly Arrives At Ruidoso

by Greg Thompson,

RUIDOSO, NM—MAY 8, 2018—AQHA Racing Champion 2-Year-Old Filly and 2017 All American Futurity(G1) winner Fly Baby Fly arrived on the backside of Ruidoso Downs on Tuesday afternoon in preparation of the 2018 summer derby season at the mountain racetrack.

The daughter of World Champion One Famous Eagle out of the champion Walk Thru Fire mare Higher Fire, showed a tremendous turn of foot to take home the winners share of the 440-yard All American Futurity(G1) last summer at Ruidoso Downs in a time of :21.492. The Juliana Holt Texas bred filly has not made a start since making headlines in last year's $3-Million Labor Day event.

Fly Baby Fly’s partnership paid $180,000 for the filly at the 2016 Ruidoso Select Yearling Sale, and she has rewarded her connections with earnings of $1,585,200 in her five-race career.

Champion Fly Baby Fly settles in at Ruidoso Downs Tuesday evening. © Emmanuel Mendoz
Before the All American Futurity(G1) finals and trial race, Fly Baby Fly made her career debut in the Ruidoso Futurity(G1) trials, and went on to finish fourth in the finals. She was the 10th fastest qualifier in the All American Futurity(G1) trials, before going on to capturing the $1.5 Million payday for winning the Labor Day Classic.

Fly Baby Fly is paid up in all three summer derbies in Ruidoso, with the May 27th Ruidoso Derby(G1) trials being her anticipated first start this racing season.

If perhaps Fly Baby Fly goes onto to qualify and win the 2018 All American Derby(G1), she would become only the seventh American Quarter Horse, and the only filly, to complete the All American Futurity / All American Derby double.

Previous All American Futurity/Derby(G1) Double Winners:

  • Higheasterjet (1981)
  • Ronas Ryon (1987)
  • Winalota Cash (1996)
  • A Delightful Dasher (2000)
  • DM Shicago (2005)
  • Ochoa (2012)